a bar


Untitled 

forgotten bar in black and white
the smell of rum and tobacco
I have been there, oh, so many times
and lost myself in a spotty glass

the first smoke of a cigarette
and burning throat afterwards
my sensitive lungs contract
and yell to remember the illness

overpriced whiskey on the rocks
and jazz music in a choky darkness
I can feel your chapped lips
and rough hands on my waist

we get lost in the circle of drinks
one cigarette after another
no clock to stop our minds and bodies
only the sickness finally hits

you come into the dawn all wrecked
asking for fresh air and water
but sorry, darling, I can’t help
there’s only gin and tonic in my cup

Leave a Reply

