Blog Challenge| Day 1


Day 1: Introduction and a recent photo

As long as I remember myself, I always hated introductions. The most repeated sentence in the beginning of high school was: “Hello, my name is Ugnė. I am … years old. I have a brother and a sister. I love travelling and reading.”. It sickened me, I used to say it mechanically, without thinking. In has not changed that much in the university, only less detailed: “Hi, I am Ugnė, but people call me Uggie as it is easier to pronounce. I am from Lithuania, small country in the Baltic region of Europe. I am 19.” 

Oh, those dreadful introductions, they say everything and at the same time nothing. What people want to hear, nothing else. This way we know how to interact with the person, what to expect from him, based on nothing else than cultural and personal prejudices.

But, I will introduce myself once again, a bit more properly. There goes!

My name is Ugnė, which in Lithuanian means “fire”. I am now 19 years old, I have turned this age on the 2nd of March. I have been living and studying in The Hague, The Netherlands for the past 10 months. I am a true European, but love Asia more than anything. I speak 5 languages. I consider myself a free-thought  but feel biased towards Buddhism. I tend to have moments of complete silence, but when I talk, I do it non-stop. I am a lover of autumn, tea, books, incenses and music. I sing, write, create, blog but never draw, I cannot do that. And most importantly, I am a traveller and explorer.

Oh, and the recent picture! Well, I can go more recent than this, I just took a photo of myself with a webcam, so here I am in all the rawness! ^^

meh

Have a great first day of July everyone! ^^

Now please tell in the comments what is your “default” introduction sentence? And if you wish, tell a more genuine/longer version of your introduction!

One Reply to “Blog Challenge| Day 1”

  1. A bit late, but here goes…
    Hello, I’m Jenn. I am of Welsh/Dutch heritage, but I tend more towards Dutch in my thinking. I am married with two children, my son is 19 and my daughter is 15, my husband is the most irritating and wonderful person I know! I am committed to lifelong learning and there are never enough hours in the day to satisfy my thirst for knowledge. I have a degree in Nursing, with special interest in Oncology and Palliative Care, but I now work as a Researcher in Birth Defects. I am 23 years old in my head, but my body lets me down and tells the world I am 51 🙂

Leave a Reply

