London trip!


Oh my.. It seems that I have been gone for much longer than I expected and planned. But I am back, a week later nevertheless, but still back! Now onto the promised post, but first a short update on my recent activities.

Around two weeks ago I finished all my exams and assignments. Now I just need to get the results, this part is the worst, as I cannot do or change anything, only sit and check my email every few hours. Oh well, I’ll get used to it. :] And now, I am in Berlin, Germany. Just relaxing, exploring and hanging out with my sister!

After the exams, as I said before, I went on a trip to London! Thus, this post is going to be about my trip. Alas, enter the pictures! ^^

DSC00013

The gorgeous icon of London – Houses of Parliament with the tower.

DSC00130

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The famous Westminster Abbey.

DSC00034

Humongous National Gallery with Trafalgar Square in front of it.

DSC00007

Probably one of the best museums I have ever been to – National History Museum. Dinosaurs, anatomy, animals, geography, ecology! Everything was awesome!

DSC00121

London Eye!

DSC00106

London panorama and Maritime Museum as seen from the Greenwich park.

DSC00043

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mesmerizing hall of the British museum.

DSC00039

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the gates of the China Town!

 

Now shortly about the trip itself!  In sum I spent three full days in the city, exploring it, walking countless distances and awing at each iconic place or sight that I have only seen in a film or TV show. I truly enjoyed the city, a perfect mix of urban and modern business districts, Victorian houses and many many parks. I was truly lucky with the weather, as all the days were full of sunshine and bearable heat. Although, it also meant that all places were full of tourists, every single museum, park or sight. And not only regular tourists, but also British students, the little ones, going on school trips everywhere. Rather difficult to move quickly. 😀 What I remember the most about London is the speed. There is always a sense of tension and rush in the air, especially in the tube stations. When you go underground, you enter a seamless flow, if anyone stops they destroy the harmonious move, thus everyone around that “weak link” gets rather angry and aggressive. Consequently, I chose to travel by buses – cheaper and much easier! Overall, it was definitely worth visiting the city, everyone must see London at least once in their lifetime. Go to the free museums, stroll along the South bank, eat their £3 worth lunch from Tesco at any of the parks, visit countless markets and just fell the life of this capital city.

Alrighty, this time it will be it, now off to the Salvador Dali museum in Berlin!

P.S. If you have ever been to London, please share some insights and most memorable moments from there. I am really interested how other people feel about the city!

7 Replies to “London trip!”

  1. I love this: “What I remember the most about London is the speed. There is always a sense of tension and rush in the air, especially in the tube stations. When you go underground, you enter a seamless flow, if anyone stops they destroy the harmonious move, thus everyone around that “weak link” gets rather angry and aggressive.”

    It’s so true. But maybe that’s one of the reasons I love London so much.

    1. I’m glad you liked the expression, and I believe that the rush becomes loved with time. :] The first day I was absolutely lost, the last day I naturally moved with the flow. Just mesmerizing!

Leave a Reply

