hikikomori


"Shaking Tokyo"
Hikikomori from Bong Joon-ho film “Shaking Tokyo” (2008)

Hikikomori (ひきこもり or 引き籠もり, literally “pulling inward, being confined”, i.e., “acute social withdrawal”) is a Japanese term to refer to the phenomenon of reclusive adolescents or young adults who withdraw from social life, often seeking extreme degrees of isolation and confinement.

********

In the shadows I breathe silently,
I am scared to even spread the curtains,
Cannibals are looming outside…

I am a well-read home resident,
I know so many writers and treasure their creations.
I’m common with the solitude of the Opera Ghost,
I cannot find the meaning of my life like Faust,
And always read Tolstoy in his native language.

Every day I listen to music while resting,
And I am not too lazy to screw the turntable.
I cry after hearing the “Moonlight Sonata”,
I already know “Humoresque” by my heart,
And if I had any friends,
We would dance to the Moldovan waltz.

But I shall not leave my home
I am a loner, lurking in the darkness.
I have renounced publicity and communication –
I am hikikomori…

June 2011

Leave a Reply

